Forgiveness

I found this delightful little statue in the antique store the other day and decided that it needed to come home with me.

I am not sure whether its supposed to be male or female, old or young. But I just love that sweetly compassionate face and happy half-moon eyes above the deeply creased smile. As I look at it, I feel acceptance, forgiveness and kindness. All of which I need for myself today and every day.

Everybody makes mistakes, and no matter how hard we try not to, it seems we always end up hurting the people we love the most. We hear their words but not their tone, we judge them for their actions while ignoring their intentions, and we pick and choose among all the experiences we have ever had with them to find only those that support our current view of who they are. And in the process, we can miss entirely who they really are.

After my loved ones have forgiven me for the wrongs I have done to them (and I hope they will), someday I hope I will be able to forgive myself as well. My little statue sits on my desk to remind me to start today.

“If you search the wide world over, you will never find anyone more deserving of love than yourself.” ~ Buddha

We love comments! :-)

