Simply beautiful

I choose not to wear makeup, also known as “war paint.” I like the way my face looks (most of the time) and don’t think it needs to look dramatically different depending on what I happen to be doing and whom I happen to be with–whether I am going to work or staying home, going on a date or working in the garden, or whatever. What you see is what you get with me, and I’m not willing to spend a lot of time and money to try to make my face look more appealing to other people, to match some artificial standard set by a fashion magazine, or to try to camouflage the natural aging process. I think beauty begins with impeccable personal hygiene and, while I don’t think anyone other than my nearest blood relatives would call me beautiful, I do at least have that to offer.

My beauty routine, if we can call it that, starts with getting plenty of rest at night, drinking plenty of fluids throughout the day, and doing yoga every morning before breakfast. As for the actual mechanics of it, here are the daily essentials:

Hair

I have a wonderful stylist whom I adore for making my hair look great for 10 years now, so all I have to do is keep it clean.

Body

Soap and water can cure nearly anything. The razor keeps things tidy.

Moisturizer for the dry bits, powder for the less-dry bits. Perfect balance.

Wearing anti-perspirant/deodorant is just good manners.

Face

The only thing I put on my face is moisturizer with sunscreen. A woman my age can never use too much of either.

For prolonged sun exposure, did I mention you can never use too much of this?

Eyes

I have had a sensitive skin condition around my eyes for more than 10 years, so Vaseline is the only moisturizer I can use on my eyelids. Don’t laugh–I don’t have a trace of crow’s-feet.

Lips

All day, every day. I am totally addicted to this stuff.

Teeth

Teeth are like friends: Ignore them and they’ll go away. Maintenance is so much cheaper than repair.

Nails

It’s hard to keep painted nails looking fresh. I prefer to just keep mine clean and tidy.

Feet

Regular buffing and a good moisturizer every day keep feet from getting rough and calloused, even in the summer when I’m running around barefoot a lot.

And there you have it: simple, basic beauty from head to toe.

2 thoughts on “Simply beautiful

  1. I use the Suave cherry blossom shampoo too, and like it a lot. I just learned about a website http://www.ewg.org that rates products by toxicity and carcinogens. This produt is a level 5 hazard, thats moderate. The Jergens lotion is a 6. I found that St. Ives Oatmeal Shea Butter lotion that I just bought is also a 6, in spite of “natural” appearing several times on the label, and “hypo-allergenic.” As one comment stated, we shouldn’t have to search for safe products. They should ALL be safe.

    • I did not know that! Kind of shocking, indeed, that all products for sale now (in the U.S., anyway) are not safe. I thought we’d come farther than that. I shall have to check out that website and adjust my purchasing habits accordingly.

We love comments! :-)

