Impossible is nothing

Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live in the world they have been given than to explore the power they have to change it.

Impossible is not a fact. It’s an opinion.

Impossible is not a declaration. It’s a dare.

Impossible is potential.

Impossible is temporary.

Impossible is nothing.

~ Muhammad Ali

I throw that i-word around a lot when I’m feeling doubtful and afraid that things might not go the way I want them to go. I can get pretty attached to it, too, and even feel angry if somebody tries to talk me out of my belief that whatever I want to do cannot be done or that what I want to happen never will.

But looking back over my life, I’ve done several things that seemed to be altogether impossible … until I did them. Such as:

  • Completed my undergraduate degree on schedule (it got kind of touch-and-go in the last couple of semesters) and obtained my first job as a newspaper reporter less than four months later.
  • Started a one-woman business that supported itself and me for nearly a decade.
  • Became the proud owner of a Rottweiler and lived happily with her for 10 years.
  • Rode a bicycle 100 miles in one day, then rode it across the entire country.
  • Left my home town to attend graduate school in another state and completed my master’s degree in two years.
  • Bought a home in my adopted state.
  • Began writing a blog.

So I need to keep this list in mind whenever I start thinking “oh, I can’t do this, it’s too hard [or too expensive or too scary or will take too long].” Step by step and piece by piece, great things can happen. I just have to be brave enough to begin.

It always seems impossible until it is done. ~ Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela

 

 

2 thoughts on “Impossible is nothing

We love comments! :-)

