Speaking up will cost you

unfriended

The fallout has begun from my post of early this morning, with one friend already blocking me on Facebook (which, frankly, I expected) and others sure to follow her out the door. This is the price one pays nowadays for speaking up forcefully about a controversial issue. People who don’t like the message just leave. No conversation, no discussion, no debate and no apologies, not so much as a comment on the post. Just gone.

I’ve spent most of my life keeping my opinions carefully modulated when expressed but largely unexpressed when it seemed they might offend. Apparently this has created some false relationships in my life with people who claim to like and respect me but quickly retract those feelings when my opinions don’t match theirs.

So be it. Here’s my stand:

I don’t believe in vigilante justice; I believe in the rule of law as the foundation of a civilized society. I am not willing to walk through my life fully prepared to kill anyone who threatens me. I don’t want to live in world filled with people who do because no good can come of it.

I have no apologies to offer for saying what I think in my own blog. But I am happy to have a conversation with anyone about anything.

9 thoughts on “Speaking up will cost you

  1. We all have opinions. And I don’t believe a difference of opinion is just cause for ‘unfriending’ someone. I have several friends with different opinions than mine; sometimes we can discuss it and sometimes not. But we don’t have a falling-out over it. We should all be able to express our opinions freely. So good for you. I think there are enough people who respect your opinion, even if they don’t agree with it, to more than make up for those who don’t respect it.
    🙂

  2. I’m sorry that happened to you. A similar thing has happened to me in the past, and I know it really sucks. But on the bright side, at least you know where you stand with those people now. I personally love differences in opinion… life would be so boring otherwise! I must say though, the thing that really irked me was the fact that you shared this on your blog and someone took offense to it. I consider blogs sacred… it’s a personal writing, not a short Facebook status that’s supposed to be quick and light. To criticize someone for writing their own personal thoughts on their own personal blog is the equivalent of sacrilege to me.

    Maybe I’m just weird though. Either way, hope it didn’t upset you too much… and if it did, you were in the right 🙂

    • Thank you for your support, Katie. 🙂 The overlap of social media makes for some tricky situations. I’ve sometimes thought of not publicizing my posts to my FB feed (because most of my friends there did not sign up to follow my blog and might not even want to know what I’m blogging about). But if I did, I’d either have little to nothing posted on my wall or just duplicate effort because this blog is where I talk about what’s on my mind every day.

      And no, I don’t think you’re weird; I agree that blogs are in their own special category of communication. 😉 I invite anyone to comment and agree or disagree with anything I say, as long as the conversation is respectful. I have a bias for dialogue everywhere, all the time.

      No matter who’s right or wrong in this, though, I’m sorry it happened, too. 😦

  3. I thought your original article was well written. You spoke from experience and from your heart. I tend to agree with you. I’ve never understood the need to carry a weapon and to actually use it to kill someone, even in self defence. I think that the public is in greater danger when inexperienced citizens take the law into their own hands. They are a danger to themselves and to those around them. Had you pulled out a gun during this robbery the end result would have been very different. People would have been shot and probably killed. I also don’t understand why someone would unfriend you for your opinions on this situation. Perhaps you are better off without them as your ‘friend’. There must be something in the air tonight. I also wrote an opinion piece that I know not everyone will agree with.

    • Thank you; we are quite in agreement. 😉

      What I have seen since I’ve been on Facebook (my first foray into social media, to which I came very late in the spring of last year) is that when people disagree, the first thing they attack is the other person, usually that person’s intellect (or perceived lack thereof). Every student of rhetoric knows the ad hominem argument is logically invalid and, in my opinion, the last refuge of the scoundrel. We should debate our ideas vigorously without attacking one another’s character.

We love comments! :-)

