Keeping faith in love

When I’m out and about, I keep one eye open for the kind of thoughtful gifts one might give to a lover, if one had a lover. I’m currently between engagements, so to speak, but I love being in love, both in theory and in practice, and hope to find myself there again one day.

Today I found this set of little ceramic dishes (that’s what it says on the box they are, anyway) and scooped them up to have on hand for some future gift-giving occasion.

i-love-you

I put my ring on there for a size reference. If you look closely, you can see the first half of the inscription inside the band: NO LIMITS. The other half of that inscription is NO REGRETS. This is my approach to relationships. I am an all-or-nothing kind of girl and when I give my heart to someone, I give it completely. My intention is that when the time comes–as it always, inevitably does–to part from that person, I will have no regrets for words I did not say, kindness I did not give, or love I did not express. Life is too short to treat love like a game of poker, always hiding and bluffing. I have always been one to lay all my cards out on the table straight away.

It’s all theoretical at the moment, of course, but I am keeping the faith that love will come back around and find me again.

Have enough courage to trust love one more time
and always one more time. ~ Maya Angelou

.

We love comments! :-)

