Lance Armstrong: “One big lie”

So, the dirtiest cyclist in history finally came clean to Oprah. After years of denial. Years of attacking and intimidating anyone who questioned whether he doped. Years of little lies and big lies that all add up to what may be the biggest fraud in sports.

You're a liar, Lance

Yes, he won the Tour de France an unmatched seven times. And for what he had to do to himself and everyone around him in order accomplish that, he said, “I will spend the rest of my life trying to earn back trust and apologize to people for the rest of my life.” What a price to pay.

I believed him. I kept the faith, said there was no proof, chose to be inspired by his cycling performance rather than suspicious of it. But apparently this man’s word means nothing and never has. To quote Billy Flynn in Chicago, “That makes you a dirty liar in my book, and I don’t do business with dirty liars.”

I feel pretty dumb now, and deeply disappointed. Are there no real heroes left anymore?

I’ve written about Lance Armstrong four times already, this being the fifth, and will now retire him as a blogging subject.

That’s all I have to say about that.

 

4 thoughts on “Lance Armstrong: “One big lie”

  1. I like the point that you make about real heroes – to be a hero you need courage, and being courageous isnt always doing the right thing, it admitting when you have done wrong too. Lance in still a hero in my eyes, people could learn something from him – that its ok to say “hey I lied” because everyone lies. And besides, body builders use performance enhancing drugs too… Does that mean they should be stripped of their titles? Technically they are doing the wrong thing and cheating too. Those body builders and lance still put in the hard work at the end if the day right?

    • Well, I don’t know that I agree that it’s okay to lie because “everyone lies”… right is right even if nobody does it, and wrong is wrong even if everybody does it.

      However, I agree with your point that he did put in the work, which is what I have always appreciated about him. It’s true that he could not have won without doping (because everybody else doped, too), and maybe he was just the best doper. But I would rather believe he was the best *rider* who worked the hardest and wanted it the most. If they really were all dirty, then the playing field was level.

      It’s a moral and ethical tangle, for sure.

  2. I was so totally disgusted when I heard this news. He has been an inspiration for so many people, and now to find out what a fake he is and what a nasty character he is has to be so totally devastating to so many people.

We love comments! :-)

