Setting sail for Middle Earth

I have never been a fan of Lord of the Rings (LOTR) or The Hobbit. I tried reading the latter book once when I was in high school and found it absolutely incomprehensible. The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis were more my speed–at least they were lightly tethered to a reality I recognized. I’ve never understood anyone’s fascination with the trio of Peter Jackson movies that are so widely referenced and parodied in the internet circles in which I travel that I am able to identify most of the characters as well as several of the key lines, and have an inkling of the plot, just from casual surfing. I still find it utterly incomprehensible, however.

All that’s about to change. I think.

gollum

You don’t say?!

I have decided to take the plunge and watch all three movies in one go so that I can finally see for myself what all the fuss is about. I have the DVDs in hand along with a three-pack of popcorn, and am ready to set sail for Middle Earth tomorrow. This movie mini marathon should take up most of my weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes.

In the meantime, here is one parody that always cracks me up …

3 thoughts on “Setting sail for Middle Earth

  1. Being a Tolkien fan myself, I guess I don’t understand anybody who isn’t. 🙂 I love the books (I have worn out a a few editions over the years), and I think Jackson did a great job of preserving the sense of the book but not the literal. I also love The Chronicles of Narnia, which is supposed to be a children’s series, I suppose, but appeals to adults also.

We love comments! :-)

