Noises in the night

I had a really weird night last night. Some time in the wee smalls, awakened by one of those Chinese fire drills the dogs do where if they’re above the covers they want under and vice-versa, I heard a faint voooot-voooot-voooot, which is the warning buzz my phone makes when its battery is critically low. I was sure I had plugged it into the charger before I went to bed, so I ignored it.

I heard it again two or three times, about 15 or 20 minutes apart. I finally got up and went to find the phone (in another room, at least 20 feet away from me), which was plugged into the charger and fully charged. I unplugged the phone, turned it off and went back to bed.

Half an hour later, voooot-voooot-voooot. Nonono, I thought, this cannot be. After I heard it again, I went to check that the phone was off, and it was. I started wondering whether my mind or my hearing was playing tricks on me, because a cell phone is the only electronic device I have ever known of that makes that particular sound. I should also add that this is only a vibration, very faint, yet it woke me up again and again as effectively as a klaxon in my ear. I’m just lucky that way, I guess.

Rude awakening in 3 ... 2 ... 1

Sometime before dawn, I got up and turned on the phone and went back to bed again with it in my hand. Again I heard the voooting. It was definitely not coming from my phone. So where the heck was it coming from?

The mystery was not solved until I was in the middle of breakfast sometime later, and located the source of the sound as a cupboard in my kitchen, which is on the opposite side of the house from my bedroom, at least 40 feet away. And what was in there? The old cell phone that I replaced with a smart phone last August. I put it in that cupboard the day I got home with the new phone and haven’t touched it again since. I cannot for the life of me determine how or when it could possibly have been turned on because of course I turned it off before I put it away. Nor can I fathom how its battery could have lasted all this time.

My kitchen cupboards are full of mysteries, apparently.

2 thoughts on “Noises in the night

We love comments! :-)

