My first cannoli

I love the Ben & Jerry’s Cannoli ice cream, but I have never eaten an actual cannoli in my life. Hard to believe, considering how fond I am of all forms of pastry. So I went out yesterday to the one bakery in my town known to make them, and picked up a pair. One of them made it back to the house for its close-up.

cannoli

Just an aside: This was a difficult subject to photograph, and I’m not quite sure why.

Based on my experience of the ice cream, I was expecting a rich, sweet filling with a whiff of liqueur flavor to it. Boy, was I disappointed. It was crunchy with chocolate chips and otherwise bland, and the shell was more chewy than crunchy. Overall, not worth the 25-mile round trip I had to make to get it, especially when I can get the ice cream at the supermarket a mile from my house.

What I’m finding more and more is that the majority of the pleasure I find in new experiences, including eating new foods, is the anticipation. I walked up and down in front of the pastry store’s display case for a good 10 minutes feasting my eyes on the goodies before making my selection, and that was by far the best part of the trip (and the healthiest for me, ha). I got a couple of different kinds of cookies in addition to the cannoli and they were okay, obviously freshly made but completely lacking in any memorable flavor. One wants to be wowed after a tee-up like that.

My search for the Most Amazing Pastry Ever continues with dedication and enthusiasm.


Bonus: Watch the clip from “The Godfather” with the famous line, “Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.”

 

6 thoughts on “My first cannoli

  1. I can relate to this one. I love pizza, but haven’t had it for years because corn gives me migraines. (Yeast dough conditioners are derived from corn, tomato sauce usually has citric acid derived from corn, and shredded cheese often has cornstarch to keep it from sticking together.) Recently I was so hungry for pizza I decided to risk a headache and order some anyway. It was far from the hot, gooey chewy deliciousniess I remember and definitely not worth a migraine!

    • I did not realize how ubiquitous corn is … that must be a real challenge to navigate. Unfortunately, a lot of food isn’t even worth the calories, let alone whatever else it might do to the body!

  2. I don’t think you had a proper cannoli! They’re supposed to be crunchy on the outside, and flavorful on the inside. Yours probably had sub-par filling, and they probably filled the shell early that morning or even the day before. They’re best when filled right in front of you, keeping everything fresh and crunchy. It’s probably my favorite dessert of all time, and if they are served at a party, I’m usually first on line. What I’m saying is, don’t give up on them yet! It’s also worth noting that I’m from Long Island, NY where italian bakeries are a plenty, and a good cannoli is never too far away.

    • As Julia Child says, “freshness is essential,” in just about everything having to do with food. 🙂 My town is short on bakeries, let alone authentic Italian ones, so we have to take what we can get. But I’ll keep my eyes open for the real thing!

We love comments! :-)

