Red velvet cookies

Nothing says lovin’ like something from the oven, or so I’ve heard, so today I made a batch of Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies to distribute judiciously for Valentine’s Day. They use two ingredients with which I never cook, food coloring and Crisco, but I liked the result very much and can recommend this recipe.

I used the second, updated version of the recipe at the link because I wanted nice, red, plump cookies. I even added an extra quarter-cup of flour, but I should maybe have added another whole cup to really plump them up and cut down on the sweetness a tad. These cookies are really, really sweet.

cookies

My problem with following cookie recipes is that I just can’t for the life of me grasp what they mean when they say “drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet.” Seriously, a spoonful? Who wants a cookie that tiny? So I used an ice cream scoop. The recipe said it would make three dozen cookies. I got only 14 out of it, but each one is practically a meal in itself.

This was the first batch of cookies I’ve ever baked on parchment paper (the recipe also suggested a Silpat mat, which I’m not quite enough of a foodie to own), and I love the results–I could just slide the entire sheet of paper off the tray to the cooling rack while the cookies were still warm without having to worry about breaking or squashing them with a spatula, plus I didn’t have to wash the tray. Very cool trick.

One thought on “Red velvet cookies

We love comments! :-)

