My 250th post

This is my 250th post in the 257 days since I started this blog last June. Not a bad record, although of course I would prefer an unbroken string. Still, for a person who has nothing to promote or sell and no ambition to get a book deal or really even to impress anyone, I think I’ve done pretty well as a daily blogger.

Despite all my initial trepidation about posting a little slice of my life on the internet every day, I have found to my delight that blogging has been the single most rewarding thing I have ever done. I’ve done a lot of things that I was glad to have done once they were over, but never have I enjoyed the process and the practice of anything while I was doing it as much as this.

Some days, I will admit, it’s a struggle to write, think or concentrate between the hours of 10 p.m. and midnight when I can finally turn my attention to posting, and I will sit staring bleakly at my computer in near despair trying to pull something out of the daily news feed or my own hat that I can craft a post around. Other days, the words spill out of me and I can hardly wait to hit that Publish button. I never know what the day will bring. That’s the challenge and the joy of it. I enjoy having this lens through which to look at my life and find the bits and pieces that are interesting, fun and sharable. It has made all my days more interesting simply by increasing my range of awareness about what I spend my time doing.

I like blogging for its own sake, for the practice of writing itself. But I also like having people read what I write (hey, who doesn’t?) and I so much appreciate everyone who has taken the time to visit, read and comment. Those of you who have chosen to follow Going Forward are my especially favorite folks. I am honored by your attention to what I have to say.

awesome

Thanks to all you awesome people for reading.

 


Okay, I’ll shut up about my posting record now, at least until I hit the 1000th post, then I’ll say all of this again, so stick around and see. 😉

 

We love comments! :-)

