Slow down and focus

I’m essentially stuck in a holding pattern this week waiting for a phone call from a certain someone with some certain news. That’s pretty much the entirety of my life right now: waiting.

This goes against my ego-driven, take-action grain, which desperately wants to make a to-do list and start checking things off it. I want to Go Get Stuff Done, in other words, but the universe is telling me, “you just sit back down and chill out. I got this.”

When we are feeling most urgent is when we most need to slow down or even stop and let the turbid waters of our minds settle so that we can see clearly the next step we need to take. We miss so much of life as it barrels past us day by day. If we focus our attention on what’s in front of us right now, it can be so much more interesting than just a colorful blur.

I found this neat video today of bubbles popping in slow motion. Despite the cheesy intro and doofusy dudes, it’s some pretty cool photography of an activity that our unaided eye cannot really see. Slowing down the action allows us not only to see how the bubble bursts but also to understand all of what is happening in the space of a blink.

 

If you’re having difficulty coming up with new ideas, then slow down. For me, slowing down has been a tremendous source of creativity. It has allowed me to open up–to know that there’s life under the earth and that I have to let it come through me in a new way. Creativity exists in the present moment. You can’t find it anywhere else.
Natalie Goldberg

We love comments! :-)

