Staying up late

I am a bit of a night owl–okay, totally a night owl–and always have been.

owl-248487

Click on the image for an awesome wallpaper-sized version. This and other lovely owl images at 1ms.net/owl/.

As I get older, staying up late (like, past 10 p.m.) does not hold the appeal for me it once did. Even so, I’ve gotten into an unfortunate habit these past few months of staying up most nights until after midnight, mostly to finish my blog posts, and it’s been taking a toll on me.

Even though it’s Friday night, I am going to try to get to bed early, perhaps within the hour. I went to bed early (9 p.m.) last night for the first time in a long, long time, and hoped it would help me get caught up on my rest. But the dogs both had to have not one but two bio breaks during the night, I had a ton of weird dreams, and my internal thermometer was running a tad too high so I kept thrashing the covers on and off. That great night’s sleep I am always, ahem, dreaming of remains as elusive as ever.

I do what I can to make it happen … I don’t drink caffeinated beverages, eat or exercise within at least two hours of bedtime; I keep my bedroom dark and cool; I have a wind-down routine I faithfully follow; and I take melatonin at night. I’m just not wired for deep slumber, sadly.

2 thoughts on “Staying up late

  1. I hate nights like that! I’m up every weekday around 5am, so have to be in bed ready for sleep by 9 or I feel awful the next day. On those rare occasions when we go out (4 or 5 times a year when we have tickets for a performance) it takes me a week to recover, even when the event is on Friday or Saturday night. I’m guessing it’s age-related!!

We love comments! :-)

