Kitchen experiments

I had grand plans for tonight’s dinner: sautéed chicken cutlets, cous-cous with Parmesan, and a lovely spinach salad.

I ended up having a nice chicken cutlet sandwich, but at least I learned a few things along the way that I will apply to future meals.

The first is how to properly prepare chicken cutlets for sautéing. I always used to just dredge them in beaten egg, then in panko or bread crumbs. Today I learned from one of the food blogs I follow that the correct way to do it is to pound the cutlets thin, dredge them first in flour, then in egg, then in crumbs.

Lovely, aren't they? Photo from www.babble.com.

Lovely, aren’t they? Photo from www.babble.com.

My cutlets came out beautifully tender, so I highly recommend this method. However, be warned: bread crumbs are as bland as sawdust, maybe blander. Season them first accordingly and don’t be shy about it. You might even want to consider marinating the cutlets beforehand. Unless, of course, you’re a fan of very gently seasoned food, in which case these fill the bill nicely.

The second thing I learned is that cous-cous purchased in bulk does not keep in the cupboard for more than perhaps a few months. Just so you know, a year and a half is way too long. It was stale and crunchy and inedible, hence the sandwich so that my meal would be a little bit balanced with the starch.

I got distracted by the failure of my cous-cous and decided to forego the spinach salad tonight, but I am having company tomorrow night so I’ll make it then. In addition to a righteous boatload of fresh spinach, you will need grape tomatoes sliced in half, some thinly sliced red onion, and a wee handful of crumbled feta cheese. Dress it with a nice balsamic vinaigrette and eat all you want with no guilt because hey, these healthy leafy greens have never tasted so good.

Tomorrow I am also making Hasselback Potatoes for the first time, and I hope they are just as easy and delicious as they look!

Yummy! Photo from Kayotic Kitchen, www.kayotic.nl.

Yummy! Photo from Kayotic Kitchen.

The main course, if I can find fresh Dover sole, will be Sole in Papillote with Tomatoes and Olives. If sole is not available, perhaps flounder will work.

Another lovely dish. Photo from La Kocinera,

Another lovely dish. Photo from La Kocinera.

These and other recipes, by the way, can be found in my Pinterest Recipes board.

3 thoughts on “Kitchen experiments

    • Well … I am very critical of my food, it’s true. 😉 Tonight’s meal will be a challenge because I can’t find sole in the market today. We’ll see just how much of a chef I am if I can adapt that amazing sole recipe for chicken and make it come out okay!

  1. Pingback: Kitchen experiments follow-up | Going Forward

We love comments! :-)

