A big night

I’ve got a very big deal happening tonight. I will spend the night in a sleep lab wired up every which way to be evaluated for CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure), a machine that keeps the airway open while one sleeps.

There are many different types of CPAP masks, and I’m hoping we can find the right one for me on the first try, frankly, because I did this sleep test a month ago to evaluate my sleep apnea and I am not excited to do it again. Gobs of glue stuck electrodes on my head, face, neck, chest and legs. I had straps around my chest and abdomen, a cannula up my nose and a pulse oximeter taped around my index finger. It seemed like 99 wires ran from my body into a box on the wall, which I had to have disconnected and hung around my neck when I (inevitably) needed to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. They told me I actually did sleep for nearly 6 hours but I sure couldn’t tell it by the way I felt (and looked) the next morning.

However, I am excited about the possibility of finally getting treatment for a condition that’s been slowly running down my internal batteries for years. If I can give my brain a rest from having to continuously adjust my breathing all night long, maybe I will experience some actual delta wave sleep for the first time since I can’t remember.

snoopy-sleeping

I won’t have the test results for a week or so and am not sure when I’ll get to start using CPAP at home, but at least now I’m on my way to doing something really, really good for my health.

10 thoughts on “A big night

  1. I`ve done it twice, it`s not that bad. the place I went to had a nice room with flat screen tv comfortable bed, the only thing was it was hard to get sleep, but both times all I really remember was being woke up by the tech in the morning, I sleep with the cpap every night and it gets easier every day that goes by, it takes getting used to but it becomes normal after awhile, good luck to you

      • That is wonderful! If you can sleep better wired up to machines and not sleeping the number of hours that you need then that bodes well for increasing the quality of your sleep at home. That’s exciting, I’m happy for you. isn’t modern day Western medicine wonderful when it works?

        • I think this particular technology is absolutely extraordinary and I am so grateful for it. I was able to lie for several consecutive hours on my back, breathing steadily the whole time. Sleeping was still a little problematic for various reasons, but the actual breathing part was perfect.

We love comments! :-)

