Another epic meal

It’s been more than 24 hours and I have almost recovered from last night’s epic dinner, which was all about the butter.

cooking-with-butter

First, I dipped chicken breast cutlets in egg and flour, and sautéed them in clarified butter. Then I scooped Yukon Gold potatoes into spheres with a melon baller (until I busted the cheap little tool and had to make cubes instead) and fried those up in clarified butter. Finally, I sautéed some mushrooms in, again, clarified butter and added some Marsala wine and cream to make a delightful sauce to go over everything. For color, I roasted some green beans in the oven (no butter involved, just a little olive oil and seasoned salt). Oh yes, and I made peach cobbler in a cast-iron skillet because I didn’t know my dinner guest was bringing fresh-baked lemon cheesecake.

The fried potatoes were especially marvelous, seasoned with salt, pepper and tarragon. They were crisp on the outside, fluffy on the inside, and had a lovely flavor of just plain good potato. The trick with them was to put them in a covered glass dish and let them cool for nearly 20 minutes after cooking because they retain heat ferociously.

The mushroom sauce was also pretty amazing, and a lovely complement to everything on the plate. Even though I cheated and crowded the pan so the mushrooms didn’t get crisply browned, they still tasted just fine.

The peach cobbler recipe was from a cookbook (how old school, right?), so I’m not going to type it out here, but here’s a similar recipe to which I would add 3 tablespoons of dark rum and some ginger and ground cloves (1/8 to 1/4 tsp each should do it).

All that plus a bottle of good wine and voof, no wonder I didn’t end up posting last night—the food coma came on as soon as the dishes were done. 😛

Tomorrow I’m going on a mission to find a heavy-duty potato-baller so I can make Pommes Parisienne again soon.

 

One thought on “Another epic meal

We love comments! :-)

