Garden gems

I tackled my mother’s garden again today, watering and weeding and trying to beat back the Chinese lanterns that have invaded nearly every arable inch.

While I was clearing out some bushy plants that have “volunteered” at the edge of the compost pile, I was delighted to find them attached to the loveliest little pink potatoes, of which I managed to harvest a couple of pounds.

potatoes

That’s the finest kind of food—homegrown, organic, and so fresh they are still warm from the soil.

I used about half the batch, the largest and the smallest specimens, to make Hasselback potatoes with a scattering of bite-sized baby spuds over the top. I served them with sautéed chicken cutlets and coleslaw made with a purple cabbage that dad bought at the farmer’s market this morning, and we took everything up to the care facility to have dinner with mom. Mighty good food.

 

One thought on “Garden gems

We love comments! :-)

