My first flag

I’m a patriotic person, I think, in my heart. I love my country and I believe in the ideals on which it was founded. I have traveled the entire width of this nation from ocean to ocean three times in a vehicle and once on a bicycle, so I’ve seen a lot of it and it’s all beautiful. I have an American flag key fob on my purse. My wardrobe is almost entirely red, white and blue (with some gray, black, khaki and purple here and there). Patriotic songs always put a lump in my throat.

But until this year, I have never flown or displayed an American flag on my house. Not sure why that is. This is my fifth summer in my own home, so I can’t use the excuse that I’m a renter. I just never got around to getting myself one, until now.

flag

It’s a modest little standard, undoubtedly manufactured in China (soooo ironic), but seeing it waving in the breeze outside my front window makes me happy.

I did some research on when the flag should be displayed, and was surprised to find there are 21 designated days:

  • New Year’s Day, January 1
  • Inauguration Day, January 20
  • Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday, third Monday in January
  • Lincoln’s Birthday, February 12
  • Washington’s Birthday, third Monday in February
  • Easter Sunday (variable)
  • Mother’s Day, second Sunday in May
  • Peace Officers Memorial Day, May 15 (half-staff all day)
  • Armed Forces Day, third Saturday in May
  • Memorial Day (half-staff until noon), the last Monday in May
  • Flag Day, June 14
  • Independence Day, July 4
  • Labor Day, first Monday in September
  • Patriot Day, September 11 (half-staff all day)
  • Constitution Day, September 17
  • Columbus Day, second Monday in October
  • Navy Day, October 27
  • Veterans Day, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day, fourth Thursday in November
  • National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day, December 7 (half-staff all day)
  • Christmas Day, December 25
  • and such other days as may be proclaimed by the President of the United States; the birthdays of States (date of admission); and on State holidays.

I shall have to print out this list and keep it somewhere handy so that I remember to make proper use of my new banner.

If you’re interested, here are the guidelines for American flag etiquette and rules for display. Good information to know.

Long may she wave.

Long may she wave.

Happy Independence Day, everyone.

4 thoughts on “My first flag

  1. Good for you! And I’m glad you looked up flag etiquette and when it should be flown. My neighbor has his flag out 24/7 and not lit at night; I’m pretty sure that’s incorrect (I do remember some stuff from Boy Scouts – both my boys are Eagle Scouts and I was Committee Chair for a few years and that’s a whole ‘nother story!!). But he’s one of those know-it-alls so I’m keeping my mouth shut. 🙂

    • Indeed, the first rule of flag etiquette is “The flag should be lighted at all times, either by sunlight or by an appropriate light source.” You can always tell a know-it-all, but you sure can’t tell ’em much, right? 😉

      I am glad to see you back, Ruth. 🙂 I check your blog from time to time and haven’t seen a new post for awhile. I wanted to email you the other day and ask how you’re doing, actually, but didn’t find any contact info on your site. How are you doing?

We love comments! :-)

