Now that’s a knife

The money I saved on a new Cuisinart went toward a real chef’s knife, which finally arrived today. It is a Suisin High-Carbon Steel Gyutou 8.2-inch right-hand model by Korin, sharp as a razor. I performed a simple test with it, cutting a sheet of 20# bond paper, and it sliced cleanly through from top to bottom. You can imagine what it does with tomatoes!

I could hardly wait to put it through its paces in the kitchen this evening. As soon as it arrived hot (literally) off the UPS truck this afternoon, I rushed right out to the supermarket and stocked up on groceries to slice, dice, julienne, chop and fabricate.

new knife

Ready, set, chop! Look at that perfect blade, with the keen polished edge. Just lovely.

chopped veggies

It made short work of those veggies, let me tell you. I have a nice mirepoix here, ready for soup tomorrow, perhaps.

The real reason I got this knife, though, was to eliminate the sawing and swearing I always do when I fabricate (cut up) a chicken.

whole chicken

A real chef makes it look so easy to turn this …

cutup chicken

into this with just a few swift knife strokes.

My technique has not improved any despite watching this process many, many times on YouTube so it took me more than few strokes, but at least the knife was everything I hoped it would be!

discoloring

The manufacturer warned me that moisture would discolor the blade, though, and it quickly did. This is a high-maintenance knife as knives go.

Of course, no job is done properly until you bleed on it, and I did manage to nick myself despite being very, very careful.

cut

Happens to the best of us.

My new knife has been carefully washed, dried, oiled and put away in its box, ready for the next round of cooking, which I hope will be tomorrow night.


Bonus: Watch the clip from “Crocodile Dundee” with the classic line, “that’s a knife.”

 

4 thoughts on “Now that’s a knife

    • Indeed! And I have always had cheap knives that I haven’t been very skilled in using. I did order a book along with this knife to help me make the most of it. I just need to watch my fingers more closely. 😉

  1. Did the same thing myself a couple Christmases ago. Got tired of mashing things up that I was supposed to be cutting and announced I wanted a professional knife, getting more specific about type, length, quality over time. Ended up with a top shelf 8″ Henckel chef’s knife, similar to yours. It’s a great place to start. Japanese wasn’t an option at the time; the tsunami pretty much devastated that business for awhile. It’s stored in the regular knife block where the less desirable one used to sit, NEVER sees the dishwasher, gets immediately washed, dried, put back after all prep is done (or after touching chicken). And it’s only touched the sharpening steel once in 18 months. Oh so nice.

    • This knife has an asymmetrical bevel (which is what makes it right-handed, I guess), so I am very leery of using the steel on it. I am an amateur knife user and even less skilled at honing/sharpening, so it might need to go to the knife shop a few times until I get the hang of keeping an edge on my (less desirable) knives.

We love comments! :-)

