Fry together for gold

I haven’t been doing much cooking lately because, you know, the dieting thing.

diet

So I satisfy (to some extent) my food cravings by looking at recipes on Pinterest. Today I found this lovely pic of “Cream of potato soup served with fried mushrooms in butter” on the Neatorama page.

Cream of potato soup served with fried mushrooms in butter

Doesn’t that look yummy? I promptly clicked through to the original link, which is to a page written in Polish. I asked the browser to translate it (you can try this yourself) and it produced a passable translation that I might actually be able to follow. I don’t have the faintest gloss of Polish vocabulary or syntax, but I find some of the phrases in English quite charming:

  • They [frozen mushrooms] are ideal for frying. Just then a little butter and the smell of the forest rises from the pan.
  • Fry together for gold.
  • You can add cream if you like, we decide.

I am stumped, however, by the ingredient duże pory. Every translation resource I’ve tried says it means “large pores,” and that sounds not only inedible but also gross. Anyone out there know what it actually means in the context of a soup recipe? I sent an email to the blog author and maybe I will get an answer back at some point. If I do, I’ll let you know.

In the meantime, I might just have to make this soup tonight and improvise a little.


Update, August 12, 2013: Mystery solved! The blog author says the mystery ingredient is leeks.
 

One thought on “Fry together for gold

We love comments! :-)

