A sticky situation

The dogs and I were traveling today to visit my parents, and we made our usual rest stop at a small park that is surrounded by pine trees that were all exuding sap into pools at their bases. Both dogs had to stop and sniff and pee at each and every tree, of course, and by the time we got back to the car, 5 of their 8 hairy little Schnauzer paws were clotted and sticky with pitch.

The best way to remove pitch from hair (or from anything, actually) is with oil, and that’s not something I carry around in the car with me (although I will be adding a small bottle of baby oil to the glove compartment tomorrow). All I had to work with was a tube of petroleum jelly, some tissues, and a Leatherman tool with scissors that I keep in the car on account of you never know.

Fortunately, these three items were sufficient to turn the back seat of the car into a makeshift grooming parlor, where it took me nearly half an hour to get the worst of the gunk off their paws and, uh, ground deep under my fingernails. 😦

sticky-pawed dogs awaiting rescue

Notice how they display absolutely no signs of remorse for the mess they’ve gotten themselves into!

Even though they both spent most of the rest of the trip chewing enthusiastically on their respective paws, at least I know they were not ingesting pine sap commingled with rocks and dirt.

When we got to my folks’ house, they had to endure yet more cleansing—feet and beards—before I was going to allow them on the bed.

Now they are starting to look  a little bit remorseful (Reggie just stood there resting her chin on the side of the tub in mute protest).

Now they are starting to look a little bit remorseful (Reggie just stood there the whole time resting her chin on the side of the tub in mute protest).

I will definitely have to remember to take a different route around that park the next time we go there.

2 thoughts on “A sticky situation

We love comments! :-)

