Quick and easy dinner idea

I haven’t shared a recipe for a while, so here is one of my favorites: roasted chicken and broccoli. This cooks up in as little as 20 minutes, with only a few minutes of prep required.

easy-dinner

Y’all remember that I am not a food stylist, right?

Here’s the drill ….

First, make a marinade with equal parts sesame oil, seasoned rice vinegar and soy sauce (or try one of these wonderful sauces from Tabasco in place of regular soy sauce). Add a packet of dry Italian dressing mix, your favorite blend of Asian seasonings, or a generous quantity of one of these three delightful seasoning blends from Simply Asia that I recently discovered and am now using individually or in combination in nearly everything I cook:

Can you tell which one I like best?

Can you tell which one I like best?

Allow the seasonings to fully rehydrate for a few minutes, then add chicken tenders, chicken breast fillets cut into strips, or boneless and skinless chicken thighs to the marinade. You could also use strips of beef or pork, of course, but I always use chicken, so there you have it. I let ’em soak for about 20 minutes.

Next, wash and cut up a head of broccoli into small trees. Drizzle with sesame oil and sprinkle generously with your favorite seasonings or one of the above mixes (can you see a pattern forming?). Arrange the broccoli in an even single layer in a shallow metal pan or on a rimmed cookie sheet.

Preheat your oven to about 400°F. (I say “about” because ovens vary, and you know whether yours tends to run hotter or cooler than the set temperature.)

When the oven is hot, arrange the meat strips in a single layer in another shallow pan or cookie sheet (I line mine with aluminum foil for easy cleanup). Cook the meat and broccoli together for about 20 minutes or until the broccoli trees are crispy and dark brown on the bottoms but not burnt (you’ll want to check on them frequently the first time you make this). Again, ovens and tastes vary. My oven cooks this meal in 20 minutes at 400; my parents’ oven needs to be set to 450 to achieve the same results in the same time. Adjust time and temp as needed for your oven to achieve the level of roasting you like best. If you haven’t had roasted broccoli before, you’re in for a treat! It has changed my life, and I’ll never go back to steaming.

If you want to add a starch, couscous or rice would be easy to make while the rest is cooking. But just chicken and broccoli make a nice, light, deliciously guiltless meal that I could eat every night!

One thought on “Quick and easy dinner idea

We love comments! :-)

