Serves me right

As I fully expected it to, my body has put a stop hold on my home improvement projects until further notice. It’s had quite enough, thank you very much, and needs some rest.

tired-just-tired

The Sick started yesterday afternoon. I needed to clear all the wood from my garage cabinet demolition out of the garage, so I loaded it into the back of my car and took it to the recycling place way across town, where I then had to unload it. The 8- and 9-foot shelves also had to be sawed apart so they’d fit in the car, and it turns out that all that lumber weighs at least a hundred pounds. I didn’t think this was going to be much of a job, but by the time I left the recycling place, I knew that it had required far more exertion than I had bargained for and that a price would have to be paid.

Nevertheless, I stopped at Home Depot on the way back to look at the racking I want to put in the garage now. I considered the various merits of 18″- vs. 24″-deep shelves, all-metal racks, all-plastic racks, metal racks with particle-board shelves, and so on. I found I could not make a decision on the spot, which is rather unlike me, so I just turned around and kind of shambled out of the store in a daze. As I passed through the check stands heading toward the exit, one of the checkers asked brightly, “did you find everything you were looking for today?” Since my hands were empty and I wasn’t stopping, it sounded like a trick question to me and I just made an incoherent sound in response without even turning my head. “Well, thanks for coming in!” she chirped, and I grumbled again.

When I got to my car, I blessed myself for not buying the racks because I know how I am: I would have felt obligated to unload them immediately upon arriving home, then assemble them, then clear all the stuff currently stacked against the back wall of my garage to make room for them, then clean the cleared space thoroughly of all dust and cobwebs, then put everything back on the new racks—all without taking a single moment to rest and refresh myself until the job was finished or I couldn’t physically do it anymore. In other words, I would have worked myself to the point of collapse because my projects seem to have a Gemino curse on them that makes every one I touch magically multiply into several more smaller (and sometimes larger) projects. The fun never ends.

Anyway, at that point in the parking lot, I also realized I hadn’t had anything to eat or drink since breakfast because I’d been taking care of the wood pile, and it was getting rather late in the day. I could feel The Sick slowly closing its clammy arms around me. Sure enough, by dinner time my throat started to sting. By this morning, I had my first full-blown cold in several years: headache, sore throat, congestion, sneezing, etc.

It’s raining today, which is a good thing because that means there’s not much I could do outside even if I wanted to so I don’t feel so guilty. Better to stay close to the couch, drink plenty of hot tea and eat hot buttered toast, and just rest.

One thought on “Serves me right

We love comments! :-)

