Beginner’s luck? Perfect crepes the first time out

I just love cooking, you know, when the recipes turn out like they’re supposed to and nobody gets hurt. That’s the best kind. If the food tastes good, too, that’s a bonus!

Tonight I made crepes for the first time, and am pleased to report that they were everything I hoped they would be and more. More filling and probably more fattening, of course, but that was offset by their being more delicious than I expected and far less trouble than I feared.

I used a Basic Crepes recipe from allrecipes.com, which is nothing fancy: just flour, eggs, milk, water, melted butter and a dash of salt. The variations, as they say, are endless, but tonight the base model was just the ticket. I decided to make crepes because I got it in my head that I wanted spanakopita without all the butter- and oil-soaked phyllo layers. So I made just the spanakopita filling, then put it in a casserole dish, topped it with bread crumbs, and baked it for half an hour to ensure the egg was fully cooked. Then I put it in the crepes, died, and went to heaven.

SO GOOD!

SO GOOD!

I wish I’d taken pictures, but I was so sure this first attempt at French pancakes was going to make a big ol’ mess that I didn’t have my cameras anywhere near the kitchen. But they all came out perfectly, each one cooked to a nice golden brown on my Lodge flat griddle. And here I thought I needed that special crepe pan with the clever little spreader tool. Not so! I have no tips or tricks to share (other than, perhaps, don’t let the pan get too hot) because the directions in the recipe cover it all.

Just like tortillas or toast, crepes can be filled or topped with almost anything you can imagine and you can hardly go wrong. Sweet, savory, thicker, thinner, layered, folded, cinched up in a purse, you name it and it’s been done with a crepe. They are just as good for dinner as they are for breakfast, elevensies, luncheon, afternoon tea or supper.

Yes, that too.

Yes, yes, that too.

Need some ideas? Start here.

3 thoughts on “Beginner’s luck? Perfect crepes the first time out

We love comments! :-)

