Holiday cooking: Phase 1

With only three days to go to Thanksgiving, it’s time to get into gear with the cooking thing. The kitchen has been deep-cleaned and the fridge has been cleared of all non-essentials in preparation to receive leftovers.

Today’s task: Grocery shopping.

grocery-shopping

I’ve had my Turkey Day menu set for a while now, so I printed my recipes and headed out to the Bottom Dollar Supermarket for the goods. I got out of there for less than $70, which I thought was pretty good, you know, for dinner for one. Hmm.

Anyway, here’s what I’m planning.

Appetizer: Bacon & Spicy Cream Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms
mushrooms

I got a jalapeño, an onion and some chives to add to plain light cream cheese because I always prefer fresh flavors over packaged flavors.

Main Dish: Paula Deen’s “Refashioned” Turkey Meatloaf
meatloaf

I’ve always loved meatloaf, and this looks both light and tasty. Remarkably for a Paula Deen recipe, it contains no butter!

Side Dish 1: Roasted Vidalia Onions with Herbed Bread Crumbs
roasted-onions

Vidalias might just be my favorite vegetable of all time. This will be the next closest thing to stuffing, I think, maybe even better than stuffing. Nothing makes any vegetable taste better than roasting.

Side Dish 2: Oven-Roasted Potatoes

roasted-potatoes

My standard mashed potato recipe begins and ends with adding fat, which does me no favors. This is a much healthier way to serve spuds that tastes every bit as good.

Dessert: Rolo Turtles
rolo-turtles

These babies work out to about 45 calories or one WW point apiece. One package of Rolos makes 7 or 8, which should be more than plenty to satisfy my sweet tooth after dinner.

Oh yes, and the beverage is Peach Flips: frozen peach slices blended with fresh-squeezed lemon juice, agave syrup, and club soda (rather than with lemonade and Sprite or 7Up). I’m sure some sweet white wine or even vodka would make a nice addition, but I have to draw the line somewhere!

peach-flip

There, I think that will make a lovely holiday spread that won’t completely derail my diet. I have Pinterest to thank for helping me find all these delicious-looking recipes.

2 thoughts on “Holiday cooking: Phase 1

  1. Pingback: Holiday cooking: Recap | Going Forward

We love comments! :-)

