Holiday cooking: Recap

Sorry, I guess I skipped all the phases of my holiday cooking from shopping on Monday right on through stuffing myself today, but I wanted to let you know how things turned out!

My Thanksgiving menu was a mixed bag.

The mushrooms stuffed with spicy cream cheese were tasty enough, but even made with light cream cheese, they were very rich and very filling. Had I known that, I would have replaced them with something lighter so I’d have more room for the main course.

stuffed-mushrooms1

Paula Deen’s turkey meatloaf, was, in a word, AMAZING—moist, light, and very flavorful. The only thing I changed from her recipe was to add some thyme and sage because those are the signature flavors of Thanksgiving and it just didn’t seem right to cook turkey without them.

finished-meatloaf

That ketchup-dijon glaze on top is a revelation all by itself; it would make a great fry sauce. This recipe includes a puree of boiled cauliflower to add moisture to the meat, which I was not too keen about because it smelled, frankly, a bit fishy. But once everything was combined, it just tasted … wonderful. This is a great recipe and I’m sure I will make it again and again.

The roasted Vidalia onions didn’t happen tonight because I ran out of both appetite and energy, so I’ll save them for another day. I did slice and roast potatoes seasoned with sage and thyme (of course), but was a bit disappointed that I made the slices too thin and a lot of them stuck to the roasting pan. Next time, I think quarter-inch-thick slices will be the way to go.

Cooking is always a learning experience, isn’t it? You never really know what you’re going to get with a new recipe until it’s on the table.

At any rate, I’m pleased that my Turkey Day included no alcohol and no sugar, since I skipped the dessert I had planned, too. So I think I’ve done right by my taste buds, my stomach and my diet all at the same time.

~~~~~

The dogs and I went walking in the cold sunshine this morning, and our neighborhood was so empty and quiet that I let them run off-leash for most of the way, which they loved. They also loved getting bacon bits on both their breakfast and dinner and a bite or two of potato with dinner as well (I couldn’t share the meatloaf with them because it has onions in it).

I am thankful today for good health and good weather, my family and friends, my wonderful neighbors, my home and my dogs, and all the many other blessings in my life. I hope you all enjoyed a relaxing day and a nourishing meal with your loved ones today, too.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

3 thoughts on “Holiday cooking: Recap

  1. Pingback: Roasted onion and potato soup | Going Forward

We love comments! :-)

