Roasted onion and potato soup

The Roasted Vidalia Onions with Herbed Bread Crumbs that I had planned to make for Thanksgiving didn’t happen last week, so I decided to give that recipe a try this week.

roasted-onions

The temperature in my town has dropped rather sharply over the past few days and the dogs and I nearly turned into Popsicles while we were out for our walk this afternoon. Consequently, I was still deeply chilled by dinner time and needed something good and hot to return my core temperature to something closer to normal. Only one food could do the job: soup.

So I thickly sliced half a big Vidalia, then brushed both sides of the slices with olive oil and generously sprinkled them with Montreal Steak Seasoning because plain old salt and pepper didn’t strike me as being quite robust enough. As the recipe says to, I baked them at 450°F for 15 minutes per side. Meanwhile, I boiled up a few potatoes in chicken broth until they were completely soft, then roughly mashed them in the pot without draining the liquid. I combined the potatoes, broth and roasted onions in the food processor and puréed until smooth. A splash of half-and-half just before serving for enrichment and it was the most perfect soup ever. So simple, so delicious, and so healthy!

I think roasting a pan of onions, potatoes, cauliflower, mushrooms and possibly a carrot, then puréeing all the veggies with some chicken broth would also make an amazing soup. As we know, I am not a huge fan of vegetables in their natural state, so I have to find creative ways to eat them, and soup is the best possible food for this time of year.

The next slightly more complicated and probably less healthy but undoubtedly amazing soup recipe I want to try is Punahou Portuguese Bean Soup. This is apparently a very popular dish in Hawaii, which, I recently learned, has been heavily influenced by Portuguese culture since the early 1800s. In fact, what I’ve always considered to be the quintessential Hawaiian musical instrument, the ukulele, actually originated from Portugal. The word ukulele means “the gift that came here.” Just thought I’d throw in a cool bit of cultural trivia for you. 🙂

 

We love comments! :-)

