Rounding out the year

I love listening to people express shock and surprise that another year is nearly done. “Can you believe it? Almost 2014 already!” As if, after 40 or 50 or 60 or more years of watching the calendar turn over, they were not ready for it. Again.

As for me, no, I’m not surprised that another year has passed, as years predictably do. Another thing that doesn’t surprise me is that while I was on vacation, I gained the standard ration of holiday weight, roughly equal to that of a tiny kettlebell.

Tiny kettlebell with mouse for scale.

Tiny kettlebell with mouse for scale.

That is my new workout tool, the tiny kettlebell. It came with a DVD that includes three different workouts guaranteed to make you sweat while you’re doing them and feel the pain long afterward. I haven’t decided yet when I’m going to do one of those workouts myself, but I do plan to. Sincerely. It’s a new year, time for a new groove.

My Weight Watchers leader, bless her heart, tried very hard tonight to find some behavior or choice of mine from the past two weeks to recognize me for during the meeting, but I couldn’t name one thing I did in the interests of my health while I was on vacation. I cooked and ate a lot of great food, I snacked on whatever was at hand whenever I felt like it, I walked my dogs only once and went for one short hike, I didn’t practice portion control, I didn’t lighten my recipes, and I didn’t track what I ate. I sure as heck didn’t bother to find a WW meeting to attend while I was out of town. In short, I threw my diet out the window and did all the things I used to do with regard to food every single day of my life.

But vacation is over now, and I realize that I don’t want to live that way anymore because I don’t feel all that good when I do. Healthy choices are good for me in more ways than one.

So, the gain has been duly recorded at WW, I’ve stocked my kitchen with lots of healthy food, and I’ve logged back into the WW site to track what I’m eating for every meal. The dogs and I walked yesterday and today and likely will do so every day this week as long as it doesn’t snow too much. In other words, I’m back on the wagon, a bit rounder for my time off, but that’s nothing that can’t be remedied with a couple weeks of consistently making good choices.

round-is-a-shape

My plan for 2014 is to drop another 50 pounds, and to reach my scale goal some time next summer. I have worked through a lot of deep emotional issues around my weight in the past few months, and I think this time I can actually do this. I have all the tools and all the support I need, and not a single excuse left on the rack. I’m ready to find a shape other than round and a size other than large in which to live the rest of my life.

4 thoughts on “Rounding out the year

    • I do know what you mean. 🙂 I am not only determined, I am well educated about how to do this, encouraged every week in my efforts, and at long last fully aware of why I gained this weight in the first place, which has allowed me finally to feel in my heart that it’s okay to let it go.

We love comments! :-)

