Challenges

It’s good to have goals to start the new year, so I was thinking perhaps this would be just the one for me.

nap-challenge

I think I totally have what it takes to rock this!

happy-hour-nap

Haha, no.

Instead, I am doing, for real, the 30-Day Plank Challenge. Here is the schedule in seconds and minutes rather than just seconds for those of us who are somewhat clock challenged under pressure. (Click on the image to view a larger, printable version.)

plank-challenge

Already did my 20 seconds today and lived to tell you about it. How hard can this be, right? (Wait, didn’t I just say that yesterday with regard to something else I know absolutely nothing about? Hmm.)

Anyway, I do know that this is one small thing I can do every day that will help make me stronger. I also started doing some range-of-motion exercises, deep knee bends, calf raises and walking lunges in the kitchen while waiting for the kettle to boil in the morning. It’s only a few minutes’ worth of exercise, really not much in the grand scheme of things, I know, but it’s something, which is more than nothing. I can already feel those lunges in my hamstrings tonight, in fact.

I’ve been doing a basic yoga stretching routine along with a Rodney Yee DVD in the mornings for so long now that I have his routine memorized, so I picked up a different “Yoga for Beginners” DVD at the bookstore tonight that has both a morning and evening routine, neither of which looks like it will kill me. If I were to start with a 10-minute kettlebell cardio workout, it might not kill me outright (or maybe it would…) but for sure I would be too sore to move for the next three days and would never go back to it.

I really want more activity in my day beyond just walking with the dogs, but I don’t want all the aches and pains that go with it because, at least for me, nothing is so demotivating and even demoralizing as physical pain. I like to start off real easy and taper down from there.ย Baby stepsโ€”20 seconds today, 30 seconds tomorrow. I can do this.

4 thoughts on “Challenges

We love comments! :-)

