Ugly weather

My town, thankfully, is not in the path of the polar vortex that is still freezing everything in other parts of the country right now. Our weather is more just typically wintry: some snow, some ice, some fog, that sort of thing. It snowed about 6 inches again two nights ago, thawed quite a lot today, and is probably going to freeze solid tonight. This is a wetter snow that is hard on small dog paws because it clogs them up with icy chunks. Which is as good an excuse as any to take the dogs to Camp Bow Wow rather than walking them.

As a friend of mine in the Midwest said at New Year’s, “had a white Christmas, ready for spring now.” I think we’d all be happy to bump the calendar ahead a couple of months.

shoveling

Our weather is not deadly in the main, fortunately, unless you’re on the roads early in the day or late at night, in which case you take your life in your hands along with the steering wheel. I feel very fortunate that I don’t have a daily commute to contend with and that I can usually choose to make my excursions in the heat of the day. Also, I got my Escape back from the shop yesterday, two days sooner than expected, so I have a solid set of wheels under me again. I feel a lot safer when I am riding higher off the ground, especially when the roads are bad.

The shop did a fantastic job of fixing my car. My only quibble is that now the undamaged passenger’s side looks kind of shabby compared to the factory-fresh driver’s side. I’ll have to get a full detailing done in the spring.

 

2 thoughts on “Ugly weather

  1. I’m glad you’re not in the worst of it! Our winter hasn’t really arrived yet. We’re still hovering around the 70 mark for highs, which is higher than normal for this time of year, and I’m not complaining. We’ve had some cold nights below freezing, but not a hard freeze – yet.

We love comments! :-)

