Better mashed potatoes

As the young Frank McCourt said in the movie “Angela’s Ashes,” with a sweet Irish lilt of course, “you can never have too many mashed potatoes.”

Image by Kipper-Snax

Image by Kipper-Snax

I’m a big fan of that dish and would eat it with every meal if I could and still lose weight, but have been forced to back away from it because mashed potatoes are egregiously high in fat the way I like to fix them: lots of butter, lots of half-and-half. Because I had a big bag of Yukon Golds starting to turn green on my counter and needing to be used up tonight, I decided to try something different.

As I’ve mentioned, potatoes boiled in chicken broth make a fantastic soup base. So I mixed up a good strong broth using Better Than Bouillon and boiled up the batch. While the spuds were boiling, I added some dried thyme and tarragon, although I suppose any combination of dried or fresh herbs that you like would work just as well.

When they were soft, I drained off all but about half a cup of the broth, saving the rest to make soup another day. I added only four tablespoons of half-and-half and two tablespoons of butter, which is about one-third of what I usually add. The potatoes turned out perfectly seasoned with no need to add salt. Best batch ever!

I suppose the sensible thing to do if I want to keep eating potatoes without paying the price on the scale would be to train my taste buds to appreciate them fixed with little or no fat at all, but I don’t think that’s going to happen anytime soon (if ever). At least I’ve lightened up my standard mashies recipe considerably, and that’s a step in the right direction.

luvs-potato

 

5 thoughts on “Better mashed potatoes

  1. Mashed spuds are comfort food for me, and I’m afraid I went back to eating them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    We were doing so well with just sweet potatoes, or at least a mixture of mashed white and sweets.

    • Do you like sweet potatoes, or were you eating them instead of whites because they’re supposed to be better for you?

      I personally just refuse to believe that white potatoes are *not* good for me no matter what anybody says. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I cannot abide the flavor of sweets, or yams — too much like squash, which makes me gag. ๐Ÿ˜›

        • That sounds very extreme to me, “everything white.” ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also don’t have much of a palate for whole-wheat bread or pasta, brown rice, quinoa, that sort of healthy stuff. My only salvation is in portion control of the less-healthy stuff. But so far, so good … I lost another couple of pounds this week and am starting to really see a difference!

          • Yay for you!! The ‘nothing’ white has more to do with glycemic index than anything else. I didn’t like whole wheat bread or pasta at first, either, but I can tolerate it now. I try to stay away from carbs as much as possible, because my body doesn’t like them.

We love comments! :-)

